03/01/2021

Law that prohibits texting while driving comes into force

1 min read
HB 107 comes into force, passed by the state legislature in April and endorsed by Florida Governor Ron De Santis last May.
HB-107-comes-into-force

HB 107 comes into force, passed by the state legislature in April and endorsed by Florida Governor Ron De Santis last May.

According to the law, a first infraction sending or receiving messages while driving will be punishable by a $ 30 fine. Meanwhile, a second will cost the offender $ 60.

In addition, the costs and fees of the court will be applied and points will be added to the licenses.

People who use the cell phone to report to the authorities a criminal activity or an emergency or those who receive emergency traffic messages or weather alerts are exempt from the law.

Yes you can send text messages when the vehicle is stopped at a traffic light, when you use a navigation device or when the car is parked. Hands-free devices are legal.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, approximately nine people die each day and 1,000 are injured due to distracted drivers.

Source: America TeVĂ©

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *